QOTW: Moisturizing your TWA

This week’s question comes from SC reader Diamond_2_22 about her TWA::

Hey orAKAle,

Love the new blog! I have a question for you and your readers as it relates to my natural hair.  I’m having the most difficult time keeping my 4A TWA moisturized.  Currently, I am using a water bottle to mist my hair daily and also the Nexxus leave-in spray every other day to revive the fro.  After applying the product, I use a wide tooth pick to style my hair.  I co-wash my hair weekly with Nexxus and I make sure to get my ends trimmed every three weeks.  Nightly, I am sleeping with a satin bonnet to protect my coils.  Even after all this, my hair is still looking thirsty.  Any suggestions?

Thanks for the question naturalista and first I am sad to hear that you are having trouble with your TWA.  Believe me, I understand the trials and tribulations when trying to rock your fro as your hair continues to grow out.  Below are some of my suggestions to help revive your TWA:

  • Labels are our friends:  As most natural hair gurus will tell you, you always need to check the products that you are using.  Before purchasing any new product, I turn it over (just like I do my food choices) and see what the ingredient list is.  Depending on what is in your products, this may be the reason for the dry or non moisturizing look.  I try to get as close to all natural products as possible, but it doesn’t always work out that way for me. Lol.  While I always suggest to do your own research on “harmful cosmetic ingredients/products”, from my research and suggestions from the pro’s when it comes to natural hair,   I TRY to stay away from products that have the first 4-6 listings of these ingredients:
Anything ending in “cones”
Mineral oil and Petrolatum – dries out  versus moisturizing
Synthetically Fragrances
Propylene Glycol – can cause allergic and toxic reactions
Alcohol
Additives or Dyes
Anything ending in “parabens” – used to extend shelf life, but cause allergic reactions and skin rashes

Ingredients to look for are those that help to protect and moisturize/condition your coils.  Some of my favorites (and suggest) include:

Aloe Vera
Shea butter (my staple product)
Natural herbs and oils (jojoba, rosemary, sage, lavender, etc)
Vegetable proteins and glycerin
Cholesterol

And the list goes on and on…..lol

  • Water bottle concoction:  You may consider adding some essential oils (jojoba, olive, rosemary, coconut, etc) to your water bottle.  This way when you mist your hair daily, it’s getting some nutrients to soak in, besides plan tap water.  You don’t need to add much to the bottle, for you don’t want to weigh your hair down. Also realize that some of the natural oils may not “play well” with some of the products you use.  Trial and error will be key.
  • Stay out of the fro: Girl I don’t know about you, but when I had my TWA my hands stayed in my head; and I learned that this effected how well my products took to the hair, but also keeping the style (again that was just me).  Also, this can help to create more breakage depending on how severe your “fro touching” is. Lol.
  • Trial and Error:  Sometimes our hair can have a mind of its own….or is that just me…but I digress, so its important that we pay attention to what works or not.  While I am not a person to say try EVERYTHING  that is out there on the natural hair market, at this phase, it may be easier (well at least it was for me) to really see what products, tools, styles, etc works for YOUR type of hair.  Remember to show your hair some TLC at all times.  It will thank you for it later J.  I suggest the following products:
    • Pantene Pro V – Relaxed and Natural line (conditioning shampoo and conditioners)
    • Karen’s Body Beautiful
    • Cantu – Shea Leave-In
    • Shea Butter (unrefined)
    • AfroVeda product review coming soon
    • Darcy Botanicals- product review coming soon
    • LeKair Cholesterol Plus – strengthening cream (an oldie but goodie)
  • Learn from the Pro’s:  While transitioning and when I had my TWA, I invested in some good literature from those who truly knew natural hair and what you were experiencing.  While there are many books out there, below are some that I have in my collection:
    • Going Natural - by Mireille Liong-A-Kong
    • Textured Tresses- by Diane Da Costa
    • Thank God I’m Natural- by Chris-Tia E Donaldson

Well that is all I have.  Lets see what the SC family has to say…..we have some newbies, TWA divas and some gurus on this site.  What say ye? Lol.  The orAKAle has spoken……….

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    JaC said,

    really good advice.. You can also check out vids on youtube for this problema.. You are not the only one going through the dryness issue.. Here’s to being moisturized God bless you and your natural journey er’body

  2. 2

    Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project
    in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided
    us valuable information to work on. You have done a extraordinary
    job!

  3. 3

    Beatriz said,

    Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular post!
    It’s the little changes that make the greatest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  4. 4

    each time i used to read smaller content which as well clear
    their motive, and that is also happening with this piece of writing which I am reading at this time.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

