Kool-Aid Hair Dye!!!!

I am so excited about this post today SC family!  Our resident fashion and style guru,J. Raquem“, has developed an innovative way to add a spice of color to your coils.  While I know he is very busy, I appreciate him taking the time to submit this post to the SC family.  Enjoy!

I know what you’re thinking, flashback to grade school. But seriously, this  worked out so much better than I thought. I’ve been thinking of coloring my hair for the longest, but I didn’t want anything permanent or cause damage to my hair.  Also, I didn’t want to bleach it since I have dark-colored hair. So…. I did my research and came upon this neat substitute. The thing that caught my eye was that it was temporary, so I wouldn’t have to cut my hair to get the color off!

Getting Started

  • 2 teaspoons of lemon juice (no sugar),
  • 3 packets of unsweetened kool-aid in whatever color you want
  • Your favorite conditioner.

Instructions

Pour the lemon juice into a container and add the kool-aid packets. I used two packets of black cherry and one of strawberry to get my dark red/burgundy color. You want to stir the mix until the kool-aid is dissolve. Then you add about a palm full of conditioner [or however much you usually put in your hair at a time]. Mix until its one solid color.

Pic #1

Next you are going to apply the mix to your hair. I strongly suggest using gloves since kool-aid DOES stain. You can choose to do streaks or highlights, but I decided to be DARING and do my entire head [pic1]. I added it all over just as I would normally with my conditioner.

The mix should be left on the hair for 3-6hrs. I actually put a shower cap on to prevent a mess and then left it in overnight. I also wrapped my head to keep the moisture in as well, for I really didn’t want dry brittle coils after six hours of waiting. When doing highlights you should also separate the hair and wrap it to keep it from coloring the rest of your hair.

Flash forward: At this point you can treat your hair as you usually do for regular conditioner, wash and rinse days. Style once you finished and enjoy the new temporary color!

Pic #2

Here is a before shot, prior to applying the dye.

Above is a picture of my hair AFTER it dried.  It took several hours!

Pic #4

This photo is the same day of applying.  Notice the popping of the coils!

Pic #5

And here is the hair two weeks later. As you can see it lasted fairly long and I noticed that I get more compliments as time passes.  I will say that I’ve heard that the color takes differently for some….may last longer or wash out in a few days, depends.

Part of the reason my color is maintaining could be due to the lemon juice I added.  Typical instructions suggested water, but I felt that would not absorb  as well as I wanted.  I assume that if you are looking for temporary color,  using water would be more suitable.  I read somewhere that lemon juice can brighten hair color by the sunlight thanks to the citric acid.  Gave it a shot and I have no regrets.   I like it and just may make it a regular treatment for my hair.

P.S. If you question the curls….another story for another time….lol

So what do you all think SC Family?  Something you will try?  Leave your comments AND results (if you are daring) below.

The orAKAle has spoken………

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kristen said,

    The only thing I could think of was the days when folk did this and they had jheri curls. Some had the nerve to wear a white shirt and the color dripped from their hair. We all knew it was kool aid. Er..um…I’ll pass on this. Too many funny embarassing moments for others for my taste!

  2. 2

    the orAKAle said,

    HA ….that is hilarious. Well, I saw him the days he did this and he looked great! And his clothes were the proper color…lol

  3. 3

    trinity grace said,

    I have been transitioning for 14 months. I think that I will try this. This is my first time ever hearing of this.

  4. 4

    caroll5204 said,

    That’s a great way to try out new colors and not be stucked with them.


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

