PR: Karen’s Body Beautiful

SC Reader Kapi08 writes:

I see you mention Karen’s Body Beautiful (KBB) a lot as “hot pick” product to try/use.  What items specifically from that product line do you suggest and/or use in your regimen.

Thanks for the email Kapi08, AND for keeping me on my toes.  I’ve been promising to do a product review on KBB for awhile and your QCC has now pushed me to do so.

Please note, I site Ms. Karen’s products regularly in my post, but I’ve never spoke to why I love her products and what my favorite picks are. Well ask and you shall receive family…Lol. Below is a list of KBB products that I am very familiar with AND my suggestions on usage:

Conditioning Shampoo

Ingredients: Purified Water, Saponified Coconut & Safflower Oils, Vegetable Glycerin, Aloe Vera, Echinacea, Nettle, Horsetail, Panthenol, Essential and/or Fragrance Oils

Product description: Designed for dry or chemically treated hair, Karen’s nourishing Conditioning Shampoo cleans and moisturizes your tresses without stripping them.   Best used on thick, curly, coily, kinky textures.

orAKAle’s thoughts: If I had to name one shampoo product to use on natural hair, this would be it!  I am a fan of “poo alternatives” now, but if I use a formal shampoo product KBB’s conditioning shampoo is the lick!  Not only does she offer many fragrances that smell divine, it leaves the hair soft and clean, without stripping your natural oils.  I would wash with this product no more than once a week prior to conducting my weekly deep conditioning, etc.

Deep Conditioner

Ingredients: Purified Water, Jojoba Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Vegetable Wax, Aloe Vera, Echinacea, Nettle, Horsetail, Panthenol, Essential and/or Fragrance Oils & Natural Enzymes

Product description: provides protection to thirsty, brittle prone hair with panthenol that seals the hair follicle. Best used on thick curly, coily, kinky textures.

orAKAle’s thoughts: I absolutely love this stuff.  Not only does it not leave a residue on the hair, it provides great slip for detangling.  As you can see, this conditioner is loaded with all the good stuff needed for the hair.  Personally, this product is perfect for type 4 hair; for it provides the necessary ingredients to soften and moisturize WITHOUT weighing down the hair.  This conditioner is also the product I use to get my hair back in order after taking down some braids (and yall know how the hair be looking after that…lol).  I always keep a bottle of this on deck!!

Hair Milk

Ingredients: Purified Water, Jojoba and Avocado Oils, Vegetable Wax, Vitamin E, Panthenol, Arnica and Calendula Flowers, Echinacea, Nettle and Horsetail Extracts, Vegetable Glycerin, Wheat Germ Oil, Fragrance Oil and Natural Enzymes

Product description: moisturizes the detangles, defrizzes and defines your curls.  Apply a generous amount to hair when damp.  Also can be used on dry hair to refresh and moisturize.  Can be used several times a week or daily.

orAKAle’s thoughts: Again another favorite product from KBB.  I keep a bottle of this on DECK as well.  This is my go to product when I need some moister (and some dampness) to style and go.  Remember, this product is a liquid (versus the butters/creams) so it will cause some shrinkage when applying to the hair (especially type 4).  But unlike other hair milk products, it will not add unnecessary oils.  I use this in the evenings when I am retwisting or braiding the hair….to style in the morning.  I also apply this to the hair if I want to comb threw my coils, with out rewetting to style. Since it causes shrinkage, I don’t usually use this product in the morning (for I am trying to stretch the hair).  This plays nicely with just about any shampoo or conditioner that you use.  A must have in your collection.

Hair Cream

Ingredients: Shea Butter, Rosehip Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Essential and/or Fragrance Oils, Vitamin E & Carrot Seed Oil

Product description: Enriched with ingredients that stimulate hair growth and strengthen your hair shaft, Karen’s Hair Cream, moisturizes and adds sheen to dull, dry hair.  Excellent for natural, relaxed or pressed hair.  Use twice a week on hair and scalp or more as needed (works best on dry hair).

orAKAle’s thoughts: I first have to agree with Karen…this product works AWESOMELY on dry hair.  It provides some slip (for styling, twisting, braiding, etc) and it moisturizes WITHOUT weighing the hair down.  A little goes a long way so make sure to avoid plopping a glob of cream on the hair.  I also suggest you apply this cream from the root to the ends for best results!

For more ways on how I use the above products click the below links to past posts on descriptions and pictures of my hair.

QOTW: General Upkeep of Type 4 Hair

Dry Twist Set

Dry Braid Out (holy grail hair)

All of her liquid products come in 8 and 16 ounces, and you have the option of ordering “sample packs” to try out the line.  I highly suggest you do this….I promise you won’t be disappointed.

For more information on Karen’s Body Beautiful and her product line, please visit her website for detail descriptions and suggestions on usage.

The orAKAle has spoken……..

Leave a Reply

