Detoxification – Cleansing the Body & Soul

Hey Family,

For those of you who may not have known, I recently did a 21 day raw vegan detoxification.  What does this mean…..I ate ONLY raw foods for the allotted time frame.  I chose to do this for several reasons:

  • Wanted to transition into a clean eating regimen
  • Increase my energy levels
  • Cleanse the body of all toxins that can kill!
  • Hopefully drop some weight to break through my plateau
  • Clean up my fridge (this is a selfish and lazy one….lol)
  • Be a better person

I must admit, it was/has been hard.  It’s amazing the reasons why we eat the things that we do.  Also, your body becomes dependent on “junk” food and “dirty” eating quicker than you may think.  I can remember on day two and three of the detox experiencing some serious headaches (which by the way are natural and part of the detox) and the agony of it all….but I persevered through it and never gave up.

Now I will admit, I had a couple setbacks in the middle.   I ran out of groceries and had to wait until the end of that week to go shopping again…so I got creative, but basically stuck to the plan.  It was in this moment that I realized what type of eating I wanted to permanently incorporate into my diet.  Below are the results of this epiphany:

  • Consume a minimum of 64 ounces of daily
  • No cheese of ANY kind (body doesn’t agree anymore)
  • Absolutely NO MEAT (defined as beef, chicken, pork and turkey)
  • Whole grain ONLY (the goal is to minimize my intake of these in general)
  • Lots of green veggies daily (with focusing on raw vegan dishes during that time period, I was eating a diverse group of  veggies, mainly green ones, at every meal…great fillers)
  • Lots of fruit (with an emphasis on monitoring my intake of citrus fruits….these break me out)
  • Bake and prepare more sweet treats (using vegan recipes preferrably) versus buying candy, desserts, etc (I learned how to make several yummy treats that are low in calories, carbs and fat)
  • Grocery shop weekly and focus on fresh produce versus packaged/can (I do utilize frozen fruits and veggies that are unsweetened and salt less)
  • Two teaspoons of ACV DAILY (this has not changed)

Well that’s it!  I really want to encourage all of the SC family to consider a detox to cleanse the body.  Part of our job here at Silky Chronicles is to provide a diverse view on many aspects of living life to the FULLEST.  We must be mindful of what goes in our bodies, just as much of what we do outside of it.

It is suggested that you do some sort of cleansing/detox once every 6 – 12 months.  You will be surprised on how great you will feel.   Personally, this is my second one, and I plan to do these twice a year.  Hopefully some of you will join me 🙂

The orAKAle has spoken……

Want more information????

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Raechel said,

    Preach My Sistah!! 🙂

  2. 2

    Once you eat raw long enough, straying from whole foods seems hard 😉


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

