Rogue Twist Out Set

Hey SC Family,
Quick post today…..dilemma….did a great twist set to wear for about a week (two weeks maximum if last).  Well, I was able to keep the double strand twist for almost two weeks, but due to them looking raggedy I had to take them out.  Below is a few pics of how the twist turned out:

twist top view

notice the split ends..lol...they wouldnt even totally twist all the way...FAIL!

absolutely the BEST photo out of all of them

As you can see, they didn’t turn out bad.  I’m actually getting better with twisting and/or braiding my own hair to wear as a protective style.  Now mind you, I completed this style around 11 pm…so I was mad tired in these photos all…and had bad lighting to take pics. Lol.
I did the usual routine (clear here for more information) as far as products.    Still trucking away with my AfroVeda products…and I plan to do so until I use it all up (month).  I believe in using products for at least a month to see how they work on the hair.
I kept the twist in for almost two weeks, as I mentioned above; but was disappointed in how messy they started to look after a week.  Like I’m suppose to, I slept in a satin cap every night, and the days I felt lazy, I slept on satin pillow covers….so the hair was protected right……..
About every other day (or may two) I would mist my hair with my favorite spray bottle concoction….but only if it looked and felt thirsty.  You gotta pay attention to your coils hunny…they will never lie to you. After much prayer and meditation, I felt it was only fair to my hair to take it down. Cause really…who wants to walk around with fuzzy looking twist.  Below are the results of the twist out:

not sure why I am smiling, cause I don't like it

**Sigh**…I mean what do I say about this family……it was a “rogue” twist out set….lol.  All I can do is laugh at this picture….You can also tell that one side of the head (the right in the pic) is longer than the other.  Ultimate failure….

Again, the purpose of this blog is to show that I to am human just like the rest of you all. My hair has a mind of its own (like you all as well), and sometimes I have to let it do what it does.  How do you savor a wreck like this…..put a thick headband or scarf on and keep it moving….lol…and that is exactly what I did.

Point to remember – We all have good days and not so good days (because I don’t believe in bad natural hair days) when it comes to our hair.  Ultimately YOU decide how to finish when a style doesn’t turn out right.  Personally, I finished strong from this atrocity. Lol.

Learning points:
  • How important it is to twist all the way down to the ends (even if split)
  • Sealing the hair with shea is always a must on protective styles
  • Do not start twisting or braiding hair at 8 pm at night…you may get distracted and take all night finishing. Lol
  • When in doubt, pull hair off the face with a favorite headband or scarf…they will never know..
The orAKAle has spoken….
4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Linda said,

    I love this post! I feel the same way,sometimes my hair has a mind of its own. In my head I can see the style that I want,I twist it into said style but then it comes out lookin crazy.
    Headbands are the way to go when my hair has a mind of it’s own. Lol!

  2. 3

    LaNeshe said,

    I absolutely love twist outs. Your hair is lovely.


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

