Last Braid Out for Summer 2010

As some of you may know, I have decided to go see my natural hair stylist in the STL, and get a glamorous sew in for the summer.  This is not uncommon for me (to get a protective style for the summer months), but usually I am getting braids versus this options (for those who may be new to SC and black hair terms, a “sew in” is usually in reference to a weave or extensions in ones hair).

To send off my lovely coils with a BANG before getting sewed up, I decided to do one last braid out…for old time sake. I know your probably thinking “why is she talking like she is never going to see her natural hair again”….BECAUSE it will be gone for about 3 months and I will miss my coils……(don’t judge me). Lol.  Below are the results…..enjoy….

 

this is my hair literally after a cleansing...look at those coils POP!

Decided that since I am going to be “weaved up” for a few months, it would be good to do a ACV rinse and a hot oil treatment to add some protect the hair (while braided and covered).  I let the oil sit on the hair for about 30 minutes….(entirely to long in my opinion..but I got lost in a movie..lol) and then proceeded to detangling with my new found love the Denman Brush and began braiding the hair.  Hair tools needed: rubber duckbill clips (2), hair clamps and a wide tooth comb (as well as my denman)….oh and a towel 🙂

I used my current go to product, AfroVeda’s She Alma Hair Butter(I promise a product review is coming soon); applying the cream from root to end.  Below are those results and the current length of my hair:

 

top/side view (one of these days I will get a good back view for you all)

 

JESUS...the suitcases under the eyes....

For those who REALLY follow SC, you will notice first the length of my braids and how quickly my hair is growing. Also, you will see NO FUZZY ENDS!  I made a point to concentrate on the ends of the braids with my hair butter, but also with my braiding technique. No hair went unturned this time.  Lol.   As usually I sealed with shea butter and I made the braids medium sized, versus the usual smaller sized ones (since I was taking them down in the morning).

I literally did this while watching some RedBox movies.  It took longer than it should, but since I was watching a movie…I didn’t care.  For bed time, I pushed the front two braids off to the side and put on my satin cap. In the morning, I got up and unbraided the hair with dry hands……went back to getting dressed for work and then used my AfroVeda Totally Twisted Hair Cream to separate and style.  The verdict is in all:

 
 
 
 

you know I like to lean wit it!

 
 
 
 

this pic right here really showed me how thick and healthy my hair is

 
 
 
 

and now I'm ready for work...

Well all, while I will miss piddling in my hair, I am happy to take a break and wear a different look for a few weeks.  I will be posting the results of my sew in once I get it.  NOW, since I am taking a break, I need YOU the SC family to submit your “naturally innovative” styles and product selections for the group…..click on the “contact me” button on the top right to participate.  Until next time…..

The orAKAle has spoken!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    LaNeshe said,

    What do you for your hair while in the sew in? Are you able to get to your real hair to moisturize, wash, etc?

    • 2

      disclaimer – to each its own with maintenance for a protective style. what I do has worked for me over the last two years, and I refuse to give in to the natural hair hype of what you should or not do.

      As you know there are certain shampoos to use while having a sew in. this time around, I haven’t had to moisturize/oil the scalp as I did in the past. I been applying my go to hair moisturizer when needed and I will have it cleansed in like 2 weeks. cleansing of the hair depends on my work outs, etc…meaning the itch. I’ve done well this time around, so I was able to go longer.

      I also have a professional put in my hair AND cleanse it….thats a must. Email if you have anymore questions darling!

  2. 3

    bbw said,

    Great site. A lot of helpful information here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you to your sweat!


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

