To Weave, Braid, Relax/Perm….that is the Question

Lately I’ve received many messages, calls, tweets, texts, etc regarding my on getting a hair weave, braids and using the “do not use” hair product ingredients on natural hair.  Due to this overwhelming subject, I decided to post my thoughts on all of the above (and slightly rant so prepare for it) today for the SC readers.

Disclaimer – all comments/suggestions are based on what has worked for me.  In no way am i advising any reader to do what I’ve done (and/or will continue to do/try) to achieve the ultimate “holy grail” hair that you may be seeking.  It is always wise to do your own research before trial n error, seek counsel from a licenses stylist and DO WHAT MAKES YOU COMFORTABLE AND HAPPY (to view full disclaimer click here)…now that this is out of the way, let us begin….

I am on many list serves and have a few go to naturalistas for advice, and they all seem to give the same response back to ALL of the questions above…..DO YOU!  I’m always amazed at how people are quick to not want to try new things or be have automatically said “no” to something that they haven’t even tried OR because someone else told them to.  Don’t get me wrong, certain ingredients and maintenance tools are suggested (highly) to stay away from due to some reactions that others may have (see my views here); and I really do try to avoid those products all together….  BUT just because someone has a reaction or put it on their hit list doesn’t necessarily mean that YOU will have the same experience.

and yes this is all my hair...no extensions here!

notice hair line in the front; don't believe me check pic above for verification lol

The same goes for getting a hair weave and braids.  Folks have professed “death to the weave/braid/extensions” due to what someone else told them OR horror stories they heard from a friend (or even read about in a blog somewhere); but do not further research the benefits and proper ways to wear these styles.  We must be fair when determining what is true

or false people…and you must check your sources as well.  To be honest if I had a bad experience I would probably NOT do many of these hair styles, but I would also make sure to show both points of the subject (if I chose to rant on this here blog). But since I’ve never had a bad experience (and I did my research on proper ways to install a hair weave/braids) I decided to use these forms of styles to help transition AND when I want a new look.

Now don’t get me wrong, I believe if not installed properly weaves/braid and chemicals can do harm to the hair and leave permanent hair damage.  I also believe having a natural hair regimen is healthier for anyone’s hair and will show more positive long term results…but again that is my opinion.  I know folks who will swear up and down that natural hair maintenance is not professional, harder to manage and takes away from ANYONE’s beauty…but that is a post for another day.

As for chemicals, perms, relaxers, etc….I’m not a fan.  As someone who wore this style for years and am now natural, I am very happy with the decision I made….BUT I DID NOT MAKE THIS CHANGE UNTIL I DID EXTENSIVE RESEARCH of what it would entail for ME!  Again, you have to do what will make you happy, not what others (including me and this blog) says is right or wrong.  Dont’ believe the hype…believe in yourself ya dig (throw back slang).

So what do you all think?  Post your comments below and join the discussion (not argue…for we promote uplifting readers/society on the SC…..you’ve been warned).

……the orAKAle has spoken….




7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    LaNeshe said,

    I think everyone should take all the information presented to them, and see what works best for them personally.

  2. 3

    dreadlockrepairtechs said,

    well lady “to braid, weave, relax/perm might be the question,” but really the question should be “to save your hair after wearing braids, weaves, perms/relaxers”. so many ladies are losing hair from wearing these hairstyles and not using the the proper take down removal system to transistion from style to style.

    but is guess it what a woman wants that matters.

    • 4

      You are correct on the fact that all women should be trying to obtain healthy hair…but I do think these styles can be worn if done PROPERLY. The great thing about black hair is that we have so many options. Why be pigeon into one look and not others? Its about education and also practice…plus a little research on certified and EXPERIENCED stylist to do these styles. Thanks for the comment!

  3. 5

    dreadlockrepairtechs said,

    made a mistake on my last line above… forgot to edit it. I ment to say that ” I guess it’s what a woman wants that matters really”

    thanks

  4. 6

    Ingeborg said,

    Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was
    just curious if you get a lot of spam responses? If
    so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any assistance is very much appreciated.

    • 7

      Hello and sorry for the late response. Since I approve all comments that are posted, I can delete and block. May want to check your security features on the site as well. Thanks for reading.


Comment RSS

Leave a Reply

