Journey to Naturality: Naturalgirl1908

Ms Naturalgirl1908 talks about her hair journey, and offers advice to any newly naturals out there…I LOVES her hair!

Age: 32
When and Why did you decide to go natural: I decided to go natural May of 2007, thanks to a good friend who was transitioning and   was promoting healthy hair. I was not a believer because I was addicted to the “creamy crack“.  I finally decided that I would get my LAST relaxer and did so December of 2008, and have no regrets.  I want natural HEALTHY hair.


What products do you use: I love Hello Hydration as a conditioner but I absolutely love the BeeMine Products line! EVERYTHING is good and it’s all natural. www.beemineproducts.com. The curly butter and the hair milk are my staples.
The good and the bad (if any) about your decision: The only regret I have about going natural is that I was scared to wear it natural at first. I kept it pressed and straight for a long time. I was a product junkie at first and then began finding my staples and stuck to it.  I absolutely love my natural hair.
Advice to newbies and those on the fence: The best advice I can give to a new natural or transitioning divas is to enjoy the process of being natural. Like you, your hair has personality. Some days its cool, some days its stubborn, but enjoy it!  Also don’t expect your hair to be like your fellow bellas hair. Everyone is different.

My fav photo by far!

Find a group of divas that are going to encourage you.  I created a great suppport group on facebook for like minded divas when I realized I wanted to transition – “For Colored Girls Who are Going Natural When the Relaxer is Enuf”.  This group was the best support system ever for me. We share hair stories, products, styles and just great discussion!

Couldn’t stated this message better myself Naturalgirl1908.  Keep up the good work and motivation to our divas out there!  The orAKAle has spoken……

Leave a Reply

