Tips for Growing Healthy Hair

I love when I get this question; for their is never ONE true answer to it.  Having healthy hair (be it natural or chemically processed) takes time, patience and a little TLC.  Longevity should be a factor when trying to reset your hair health; along with a willingness to learn new things.  On my journey to a more healthier Silky Coils, I soaked up as much information on wellness in general while pursuing natural healthy hair bliss.

I know the list is long, but I’ve been waiting to post this after doing more research, trial and error and speaking to YOU the SC Family on what you wanted to know. So I present to you my tips for growing healthy hair:

Hydration – If you’ve done ANY research on being overall healthy, you will find that keeping your body hydrated is key. The same would go for having healthy hair. Water makes up a fourth of the weight of a strand of hair, so when you drink the proper amount for YOUR body type, naturally your hair will respond by being supple, and shiny!  I always suggest a minimum of 8 servings (8 fl ounces) a day.

Vitamin and Supplements – I plan to post a separate entry regarding these, but I did want to include them on this list.  Yes there are many hair supplements you can take (i.e. Biotin) to help stimulate growth and prepare your hair; BUT simply taking a daily multivitamin can also do the trick.  Our bodies needs nutrients to function properly on a daily basis…this also includes proper growth of your hair.  Depending on your health needs, you can find a suitable multivitamin that will not only assist in daily functions but also hair growth and repair.  Personally, I take Centrum Ultra Women’s.  If you do not take a multivitamin……START IMMEDIATELY!!! It may save your life

Control Stress Levels – CRAZY I know, but interesting enough your stress levels effect not only your overall health, but also your hair.  When we get stressed our physiological levels rise and can either stop hair growth or cause hair loss?  During this time, your hair follicles go into a resting phase cause a reduction in growth and sometimes loss.  Some of us control it better than others; but if your like me…my stress can get pretty out of control during high priority times of the year.  So ways to combat stress can be found here.

Food Intake – Long time SC family has heard me speak about this before – you have to be cognizant on what your putting inside your body.  Everything that goes in, has to come out some how; and eating nutrition foods will aid in repairing (or rebooting) the hair follicle AND stimulate growth.  Some recommended nutrients found in our food, to grow healthy hair include (but are not limited to): Proteins, Iron, B Vitamins, Essential Fatty Acids, Vitamin E and Sulfur.  It is also suggested to stay away from foods that are sugary, loaded with fat, caffeine based and carbonated for they can cause a lot of damage to our hair!

Styling/Products – First, if you haven’t’ read my post on Determining Your Hair Type you may want to first take a look before you go on. You can’t stimulate growth or achieve health with your coils if you have no clue what type of hair you have.  From there, you can find many resources on what products work best for YOUR hair.  I’m a type 4 diva, so I like products that are loaded with ingredients like Shea Butter, Aloe, Rosemary oil, etc; for I know for me, these ingredients protect my hair through any weather AND maximize growth.  As for styling, some general rules is to always keep it moisturized, utilizing protective styling and retain hair, add hair utensils that will aid in your daily matriculation of the hair not damage it; and finally to make an effort to wrap your hair at night OR use a satin pillow case to not cause damage and breakage as you sleep (I can’t stress this enough).

License Stylists are our Friends– Family, you all would be surprised how many people I run into who believe that with the proper ingridients, tools and the web they can be their own stylist…..NEGATIVE. While I pride myself on being able to better manage my hair in the comfort of my home…for FREE, I also see the importance of having a professional examine my hair.  Even though I’ve recently embarked on trimming my own ends (that’s a whole other post for another day…lol), I also make sure to see my stylist every few months to get my “art work” checked and correct if needed.

Do your research – How you think I created this list….lol.  Seriously, while reading blogs are nice and convenient, it is critical that you do your own research regarding what will work for you. I can name off at least 20 blogs/articles I found and was reading, but it wasn’t until I did my OWN trial and error after researching what I was embarking on.  There are many books, websites and stylist out there who are willing to assist.  If you haven’t done so already, take a few minutes to learn your hair type and what type of product ingredients and styling tools work for YOU.

the orAKAle has spoken…..

Sources: Stress Related Hair Loss in Women, Foods that Promote Hair Growth, Benefits of Salon Hair Care, Benefits of Multivitamins, Grow Afro Hair Long
Related posts: Benefits of Shea, Hair Types, Detoxification
Leave a Reply

