Journaey to Naturality: Diamond Princess

Ms Diamond Princess talks about her hair journey, and offers insight to any newly naturals out there…can you say DIVA!

Age: 21
 
When and Why did you decide to go natural: -I decided to go natural in 2006. I was rocking this hairstyle that required me to color and perm my hair very frequent. It goes without saying that because I permed my hair so much it became extremely damaged. I decided to rock a fade. After about 2 years I wanted to see how long my hair could get now that it was healthy. I permed my hair and it look fabulous. However, after about 3 months I grew bored and cut my hair off again. And I’ve been natural since then. Now I have locks and I absolutely love them.

 
 
What products do you use: I use the Jamaican Rasta Locks & Twists product line and Aphogee Protein Shampoo & Conditioner (twice a year)
 
 
The good and the bad (if any) about your decision: The pros of having natural hair is the way your hair shines, the rate my hair has been growing, and just the way my hair feels. Since I became natural my hair looks and feels amazing. I know when I was constantly perming and coloring my hair, my ends were split and texture of my hair was very brittle. I would have to saturate my hair with oils and moisturizers just for it to appear remotely decent. My hair has always grew at a fairly decent rate however since I have been natural I went from a fade to shoulder lengths locks in ONE YEAR! It’s crazy. I can’t think of any cons.
 
 

 
 
Advice to newbies and those on the fence: Love your hair not matter the length or texture. Love it! Being natural has its moments. Your hair will be unpredictable and won’t do what you want it to do but it’s just a phase. Once you truly get to understand your hair and what works for hair you will LOVE LOVE LOVE YOUR HAIR!!!
 


Leave a Reply

